Menu

Reviews

  • Last March Celebrity Cruise in St. Maarten Rating 5 Excellent

    Last March, 2017, my wife and I booked an excursion from our Celebrity cruise in St. Maarten aboard the Mercedes. Our captain and his crew showed us a fantastic time that we didn't want to end. I have been around boats and ships my entire 71 years and this experience ranks up right up near the top. I would like to give you all a picture I took as we were leaving the pier. The shot shows our cruise ship illuminated and the Mercedes illuminated looking like they are almost touching bows. You are welcome to any and all rights if you see fit to use it in any way. My problem is that I can not figure out how to attach it in this format. If you would tell me how to send it to you I would love for you to have it.
    Thanks again for a Fantastic experience!
    Jim Cooper

  • flaglyn “Exhilarating-Awesome" Rating 5 Excellent

    Having been on 1 other Sailboat before which didn't turn out so well, I was a bit apprehensive about going on this excursion through our Cruise Line-RCL. Well, I was not disappointed. We were greeting very graciously by the crew member of this massive ship. The rigging on this was incredible. We had a few showers off and on and it was a bit choppy. That didn't seem to bother me at all. It was just beyond words. We got great views of the infamous St Maarten Airport. The crew is a fantastic group of people. They stay on this ship and treat it like home. They narrate through out the sailing and explain the life on this ship. Highly recommend this ship. By the way, I did take a Dramamine before I went on just be on the safe side.
    Visited March 2017

  • Breakaway19 “Great aventure.” Rating 5 Excellent

    This sunset sailing adventure was the best excursion of our cruise. The ship was excellent and it was exhilarating once all the sails were up. The crew were all very personable and friendly. I would highly recommend this adventure.

  • TandKYoung “Delightful trip on a true sailing vessel.”, Rating 5 Excellent

    We recently booked the "Tall Ship Experience" on our overnight stay in Sint Maartin a week ago. We walked from the Celebrity Equinox to the SV Mercedes for a 4 hour sunset cruise. The excursion was a wonderful experience. Being a sailor, the opportunity to go under sail on a tall ship could not be missed and was not disappointing ( though it would have really cool to see the crew up on the yard arms setting and furling the sails- all done safely from the deck on the Mercedes with the muscles of willing guests). After a short safety briefing, we set out into the beautiful Caribbean waters for a smooth, gentle sail. The weather was very cooperative. Keep in mind, a sailboat heels with the wind and rides up and over waves- more wind and waves, more motion. The knowledgeable crew, mostly female, shared insight about the boat, the island and life at sea. All spaces on deck were available to sit and watch the scenes and sails once underway. There was also a very large saloon below to find more comfort. There was a cash bar, and snacks were supplied. Our tour sailed us past Simpson bay and Maho beach. With the diminishing light, sights on shore were hard to see and there was only one plane departing the airport. I understand that the early trip sees more "sights" but they do not get the spectacular sunset. Our return to port was upwind, and therefore under power (we'd have been out all night trying to sail back). We circled the mega yachts in millionaire's cove, pausing to see how the obscenely rich travel the seas.
    All in all a great excursion. The boat was safe, clean and stable. The crew was skilled, experienced, accommodating, knowledgeable and very personable. Though the ship is not particularly historic, it was a rare experience to sail on a square-rigged ship. Room for improvement- transportation between the gang planks of the cruise ship and the Mercedes. While the excursion is listed as "mild". The walk is a challenge for the elderly or handicapped.
    Visited March 2017

  • Randy H "BUCKANEER or PIRATE 3 hours of adventure!”, Rating 5 Excellent

    Always wanted to experience a tall ship, Mercedes and crew won't disappoint. Seas and wind was great, crew accommodating, very friendly and informative. Ship is 150 foot steel hull built in 1954, shes perfect, spotless and sparkles as she cuts through the seas. Fun to see the island and harbor from the water. Cash bar was lowest price drinks on trip, wish I could take them with me. Depending on seas and if your suspectible take measures to prevent sea sickness. Will do it again next trip.
    Visited February 2017

  • Eunice Nelson

    We just sailed the Mercedes last week in St. Maarten. It was the best excursion we experienced on our Celebrity cruise!!!

  • ggsmac “Perfect three hour sailing experience”, Rating 5 Excellent

    The Mercedes is a beautiful two-masted brig sailing out of Sint Maarten harbor on the Dutch side of St. Martin. Staffed by a friendly and knowledgeable crew, the tour begins with a welcome drink and ends with cake! In between, the ship sails out of the harbor, lingering off of Maho beach to watch the planes take off and land just above the sand. The crew took turns telling us about the ship, it's history, and rigging, while providing opportunities to help hoist the sails and take the rudder. Beautiful weather didn't hurt. All-in-all, a fine and seamless experience.
    Visited March 2017

  • Ian D "uniquely different!”, Rating 5 Excellent

    If you're tired of stuffy, cramped bus tours or just want a break from the beach, this is the trip for you! While not for those who suffer from motion sickness - it is a sailing ship after all - for most it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The crew is engaging and informative; the view is spectacular; and the trip is exhilarating. As an added bonus you can help hoist the sails and take a turn at the helm. You may even get to see a large jet fly past just a few yards overhead on its way into the airport. Visited March 2017

  • Lydiaaaaa "Perfect trip with the lovely people of Mercedes", Rating 5 Excellent

    We had a lovely sunset cruise on this impressive ship. The nice and friendly crew made it a memorable trip!

  • Colorado Bell "A Relaxing Splendid Sunset!@!", Rating 5 Excellent

    What a beautiful ship! What a beautiful experience! We felt like special guests invited aboard this wonderful crew's ship; their home. Fruit cup and lemonade offered, in addition to a small cash bar and snacks, clean restrooms, and a ship that offered multiple areas to sit and enjoy the sea breeze and sunset. So glad we went.

  • Kaye Griffin "An exhilarating experience", Rating 5 Excellent

    We booked our Tall ship experience whilst onboard the Celebrity Equinox and I'm so glad that we did it was the highlight of our holiday, the crew were smart, helpful, informative and most of all very friendly and approachable the Captain even let my husband have a go at steering the ship. We were served fresh fruit cocktail and homemade cake during the trip which lasted around 3 hours. The talks given by different members of the crew were very interesting and nothing was too much trouble. We set sail at 4.30 so could enjoy the sunset over the ocean. I would advise travel sickness tablets as some people in our party egnored the advise and were feeling a little delicate by the end.
    Visited march 2017

  • Joe Maluchny

    My wife and I were on the Celebrity Equinox with a stop in St. Maarten on March 10, 2017. We took the morning sail on the fantastic Mercedes. Right from going on board until our return, the crew was more than fantastic. They all were very informative and treated us like we were Kings and Queens. The crew was so coordinated in their sailing responsibilities and worked as a great team.The sail was amazing and was the highlight of our shore excursions. I would rate it worth a 100% 5 Star review.

  • Richard Griffin

    We overnighted in St Maarten on the Celebrity Equinox on the 9th March 2017. Previously we had experienced the Heineken regatta sailing ship (racing) experience, and as such this excursion appealed to us both (wife and I). We were not disappointed. The organisation (wholly by the Mercedes team) was flawless. We took the late afternoon trip to see the sunset, steered the craft, and found the whole experience totally worthy of a 100% 5 star review. We are regular cruisers, and have been most places in the world with Celebrity and this was by far the best all round excursion, and best value for money trip we have ever experienced......even when we organised them ourselves. Thanks to the guys on board....extremely professional in every way.

  • Anette Muir

    We were on the Celebrity Reflection from February 18 - 25, 2017. While we were in St Maarten we went on the excursion Tall Ship Experience - Sailing ship Mercedes it absolutely was the best excursion my husband and I have ever been on. The crew was great. I got to help put up a sail and got to steer the ship. It was so much fun and recommend it to anyone. Best excursion ever!

  • GWC 1964 “Wonderful Sunset Cruise - Great views of Cruise Ships, Airport and Yachts”, Rating 4 Very Good

    A evening tour whilst in port on a cruise ship made for a memorable 3 hours. The crew are very friendly and engaging, a safety briefing was followed by a Rum Punch and the offer to be able to help with the sails if you wanted to explore "your inner sailor" Further drinks and souvenirs can be bought on board, but this is all about the views and the unique opportunity to sail on a working "Tall Ship". The highlight of our all but too short time in St Maarten.
    Visited February 2017.

  • Mickey M. “Tall ship experience”, Rating 5 Excellent

    We had a relaxing day on the Mercedes. The crew was exceptional. We helped raise the sails and even had a turn st the helm. They called the airport to find planes scheduled for arrival at Maho and timed the trip to experience some close calls! Highly recommended!
    Visited January 2017.

  • Jeff F. “An absolute MUST experience!”, Rating 5 Excellent

    Totally great to get a hands on experience sailing on a tall ship. This is a fully functioning tall ship that alternates between Europe in the summer and the Caribbean in the winter. Once onboard, Captain Floris is very welcoming, allowing anyone to steer the ship and raise the sails as needed. Our day was perfect with abundant sun and a stiff breeze. The route goes near Maho beach famous for being right at the end of the airport runway. Although we did get to see some planes landing overhead, we were not fortunate enough to experience a jet landing (Captain Floris has the flight schedules and tries to time it but the flights are often delayed). Since the ship pitches a lot with the sails raised, avoid this activity if you get seasick.
    Visited December 2016.

  • Reader182 “Wonderful Excursion Out of St. Maarten”, Rating 5 Excellent

    We booked this excursion through Celebrity Cruises as part of our trip to the eastern Caribbean. Boarding the Mercedes was uncomplicated and swift. I was forewarned to prepare for possible motion sickness, so I was ready. I didn't want my experience to be hampered by illness. The crew was skilled and welcoming. They provided refreshments and shared their knowledge of the island, the Mercedes, and sailing in general. The 3 hour excursion took us along the coast, out in open water to pick up the winds, and over to Maho Beach, where incoming aircraft fly directly over sunbathers. What a treat this day was! Wear comfortable shoes and clothes; and if given the opportunity to help raise the sails-go for it!
    Visited January 2017.

  • Travelin_Fuel "Great sail!", Rating 5 Excellent

    We enjoyed a lovely sunset sail aboard tall ship Mercedes. All sails were raised and the engine turned off - real sailing. Captain was eager to let passengers steer the vessel - especially the youngsters. Crew was very friendly and professional. Cash bar was good - service was efficient - the heads and the boat itself were very clean. We booked the cruise via email and phone - and communication was speedy and clear. We would return again in a heartbeat.

  • DianneF50 sail with the wind, Rating 5 Excellent

    Just sailed on the Mercedes last week and what an experience. The crew is very informative and friendly. Lots of interaction to help raise sails and steer the rudder. We had a great day sailing on the coastline of St Marten and saw the planes landing.
    Visited February 2017.

  • Granddad725 "Sunset cruise" P&O Britannia, Rating 5 Excellent

    Spent a lovely afternoon / evening on the tall ship Mercedes, a perfect sunset cruise booked through P&O ship Britannia, the crew were fabulous and very informative. Thank you the Captain and crew of Mercedes.
    Visited February 2017.

  • Lori Williford

    This was BY FAR the BEST excursion we have EVER taken on 24+ cruises over the years! The staff/crew on the Mercedes were attentive and helpful. The boat is beautiful. This was such a nice change from other purported sailing excursions when a sail or two might be put up, but in actuality to only be motoring along. To hear the snap of the canvas and the creak of the rigging as the boat heeled over to almost 45 degrees in the wind was exhilarating!!!! The fruit cup and apple cake distributed by the staff were delicious. The opportunity to steer the boat was really an added bonus. I can highly recommend this!

  • P&O Arcadia – Marian Weldon – Shore Excursion Manager

    We had such great feedback from the tour today, myself and Sam our Port Presenter and another colleague all went along to experience the tour. The crew were amazing and the whole operation is totally slick and professional - very much enjoyed by all.

  • Anne Thurgood

    I was a passenger with my husband on the Mercedes on 11 June 2016 on the 11am 3 hour cruise from southend pier. It was a wonderful experience. We wish to thank all the captain and crew - they were all very courteous and friendly and helped to make it a memorable trip.

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 5 Excellent

    If you enjoy sailing and have never sailed on a Tall Ship, this is the excursion for you. The crew was absolutely great. We had a 20-25 knot wind which even added to the experience.

  • Celebrity Cruises, 5 Stars/excellent

    We ventured directly out from Philipsburg under full sail, tacked and then sailed north towards the airport to spot early morning arrivals. Due to her tall masts, the Mercedes stayed a safe distance from the landing zone. While sailing back to port under engine power, the crew commented on the various bays, beaches and shore highlights.

  • Celebrity Cruises, 5 Stars/excellent

    The highly professional crew, beautiful ship, and gorgeous locale delivered a memorable and worthwhile experience. Highly recommended.

  • TUI Cruises, Rating 5 Excellent

    Our team on board and us back here in Hamburg enjoy working with you. We are having many satisfied passengers! No wonder – you have such wonderful ships!

  • Celebrity Cruises, 5 Stars/excellent

    Highly Recommended Tall Ship Adventure!
    This sailing on the Tall Ship Mercedes provided a beautiful morning excursion. The mostly European crew were passionate and provided informative commentary on both ship and shore.

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 5 Excellent

    Highly Recommended Tall Ship Adventure!
    This sailing on the Tall Ship Mercedes provided a beautiful morning excursion. The mostly European crew were passionate and provided informative commentary on both ship and shore.

    We ventured directly out from Philipsburg under full sail, tacked and then sailed north towards the airport to spot early morning arrivals. Due to her tall masts, the Mercedes stayed a safe distance from the landing zone. While sailing back to port under engine power, the crew commented on the various bays, beaches and shore highlights.

    The highly professional crew, beautiful ship, and gorgeous locale delivered a memorable and worthwhile experience. Highly recommended.

    and meet the captain (and possibly steer for a few seconds), but I was too busy enjoying the sail to do that. Well worth the price; just the right length of time.

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 5 Excellent

    Great sail with the glamour of times past. This excursion is great for Families with young children, Families with older children, Couples, Baby Boomers, Young Adults, Nature Lovers, Adventurers/Thrill Seekers I loved this! It hadn't any reviews when I signed up, because it's new to St. Maarten. Dutch-run tall ship that was refitted from a 20th-c. sailing vessel. Holds quite a few--if you want a seat, try to be towards the front of the line since many passengers don't move--and who wants to be inside? The rigging and how the sails are named, the history of the boat, the history of the island, other points of interest are all explained in several short talks. Plenty of time to move around and just enjoy the experience. You're met with a lemonade, orange juice or water and can buy drinks at the bar inside (or Fritos and other snacks); there are also some nice quality shirts/caps/jackets for sale, but no one's pushing any of that. Friendly crew has time and inclination to converse. They let an adventurous young lady climb the rigging, putting her in a safety harness and accompanying her--she had a great time! You could go

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 4 Good

    This was a very unique and delightful excursion. No need to worry about getting wet or seasick, it is a comfortable ride with the sails flying. The captain and crew will let you take the helm or hoist the sails if you choose to do that. Great crew, and you just walk to the ship from the cruise ship.

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 4 Good

    This was a very unique and delightful excursion. No need to worry about getting wet or seasick, it is a comfortable ride with the sails flying. The captain and crew will let you take the helm or hoist the sails if you choose to do that. Great crew, and you just walk to the ship from the cruise ship.

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 5 Excellent

    Great Experience; If you're never been to St Martin, then we'd recommend an island tour by land so that you can properly explore the French and Dutch side. As second-time visitors, however, we wanted to try something new. We traveled with seniors, so this seemed the ideal choice. It was. The ship is large and offers plenty of space to relax and enjoy the views and insights from the experienced crew. Hubby even got to take the wheel and sail the ship! Fun. The views of the airport were ok, not as good as being there (a must do if you have the chance). Overall, a pleasant sail and recommended for young and old alike.

  • Celebrity Cruises, Rating 5 Excellent

    We booked this because we were unable to get on the twilight cruise for that evening. Boys we glad we did it. It was great and I suggest it to everyone.

Give us your review